NSCN IM Konyak Region to stand by Framework Agreement


The Konyak Region, NSCN General Meeting was held on the 16th April, 2021 at Region Treasury, 5th Mile, Dimapur. The meeting was chaired by CAO Konyak Region Mr. Phuae Konyak, Deputy Kilonser and Session secretary Mr. Mandao Konyak. All the civil authority and Region members attended the meeting. The high ranking military officers from Major and above also attended the session. The meeting was invoked by Mr. Lemba Konyak followed by welcome addressed from Mr. Sangti, Kilonser, Convener Core Committee, Konyak Region. Obituary report and a mass silent prayer were observed.

Speech from His Excellency the Vice-President, Mr. Tongmeth Wangnao was conveyed to the masses. He stressed that from the beginning of the Naga National movement and till date we (Nagas) have achieved four very important landmarks in the Naga History among many events and occasions. The Naga Independence declaration of 1947, The Nagas’ Plebiscite of 1951, Official recognition of the Uniqueness of Naga History in 2002, and Framework Agreement signed on the 3rd August, 2015. The Framework Agreement was witnessed and signed by the Prime Minister of India, Mr. Narendra Modi at his residential office in the presence of Home Minister, Mr. Rajnath Singh, Chief of Army staff, heads of various departments and dignitaries who were present at the ceremony. It was not a closed door ceremony but rather live telecast and aired in the news channel and various media for the world to witness the ceremony. Since the very agreement itself is Historic in nature, Honorable, Acceptable and lasting solution is a must and need of the hour. “Time is not real factor for solution but the issue is” said Mr. Wangnao.

In the presence of the Hon’ble Collective Leadership Member, Mr. Alam Wangshu; the house unanimously declared to stand by the Framework Agreement signed on the 3rd August, 2015. The house has also further endorsed to give an unflinching support to the leadership of His Excellency the President Mr. Q. Tuccu, His Excellency the Vice-President Mr. Tongmeth Wangnao and Most Honourable Ato Kilonser Mr. Th Muivah.

The programme concluded with a vote of thanks from Mr. Akhah Konyak, Executive Member, Steering Committee and benediction by Lieut. Col. Wangchun Konyak.

(Press Statement by MIP, NSCN/GPRN)

About The Author

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments