Shimri Raising elected as President of the Tangkhul Katamnao Saklong

File photo: TKS president, Shimri Raising

Peh unit candidate, Shimri Raising has won the Tangkhul Katamnao Saklong (TKS) 21st General election 2020 Presidential race for the term 2020 to 2023. The final vote count was a tie between Shimri Raising who secured 115 votes as well as Brilliantson K James of Shingkap unit who also secured 115 votes share out of the 493 total votes casted on Friday late evening, held at Tangkhul Naga Long office.

The Election Commissioner declared Shimri Raising the winner at the 21st General election 2020, Tangkhul Katamnao Saklong (TKS) election under the Article 16 (ii) of the constitutional provisions of the apex student body.

WhatsApp Image 2020 11 27 at 7.06.47 PM
Oath taking immediately after the result declaration. Photo: Akui Zings

All the five TKS presidential candidates secured moderate vote share across the board at the beginning of the vote counting. However, nearing the end of the vote count saw Brilliantson K James of Shingkap unit and Shimri Raising of Peh unit coming neck in neck with a marginal difference while Wungchipem Mahung secured the least votes through out the counting securing 59 votes in total.

Also read: Ramreichan Keishing voted the Vice President of Tangkhul Katamnao Saklong

WhatsApp Image 2020 11 27 at 5.28.07 PM

TKS (Tangkhul Students’ Union), the apex Tangkhul students’ body is a federating unit of Naga Students’ Federation (NSF), All Naga Students’ Association, Manipur (ANSAM), and All Tribal Students Union Manipur (ATSUM).

WhatsApp Image 2020 11 27 at 7.23.26 PM
Photo: Akui Zings

Here is how the people voted out of the 493 votes casted:

Brilliantson K James, Shingkap Unit – 115
Shimri Raising, Peh Unit – 115
John Zimik, Mapum Unit – 95
Sylvia Rimai, Tangkhul Hundung Unit – 106
Wungchipem Mahung, Hungpung Unit/THYSO – 59

Invalid votes – 4

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments