A total of Eleven Candidates File Nominations for two Manipur Parliamentary Seats

File photo: Maps of India

Newmai News Network

Imphal: A total of nine candidates filed their nomination papers on Wednesday, the last day of filing nominations for the two Parliamentary seats of Manipur.

Including the two who had earlier filed their nomination papers, a total of 11 candidates filed their nomination papers to contest the upcoming two-phase polls.

Of the total 11 candidates who filed their nomination papers till March 27, 2024, seven are for the Inner Manipur Parliamentary constituency and the remaining four for the Outer Manipur (ST) Parliamentary constituency, all from the Naga tribe, as Kuki-Zo tribals abstained.

For the Inner seat, a total of six candidates filed their nomination papers today to the returning officer (RO) at Imphal West DC office Lamphelpat. They are Maheshwar Thounaojam of Republican Party of India – Athawale (RPI – A),  Thounaojam Basanta Kumar Singh of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Dr. Angomcha Bimol Akoijam of Indian National Congress(INC), Moirangthem Totomshana Nongshaba of Rashtriya Ja

About The Author

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments