Assembly Trust Vote today: Manipur

UT News Service | Imphal, August 10: On July 28 the Opposition Congress submitted a notice of no confidence against the BJP-led coalition government in the Manipur Legislative Assembly for failure to hand over the high-profile drug seizure case involving former BJP leader Lukhosei Zou to CBI.

The motion was submitted by sitting Congress MLA K Meghachandra accompanied by his colleague Th Lokeshwor to the state Assembly secretariat, urging Assembly Speaker Y Khemchand to include the no-confidence motion in the business list of the monsoon session of the state Assembly.

53 in total out of the 60 member House, including the Speaker Y Khemchand goes for the trust vote today. The Opposition Congress has 24 Congress MLAs, and the ruling coalition has 29 MLAs. 4 NPF, 4 NPP, one each from Trinamol Congress and Lok Janshakti Party and one Independent member.

Reliable source confirmed that the Chief Minister had convened a meeting of all legislators of the ruling party for the motion on Monday. Minister Th Bishwajit Singh issued a whip to party members to vote in favour of the trust motion.

The opposition Congress chief, K Govindas issued a whip to it’s party legislators to vote against the motion moved by the Chief Minister adding disciplinary action will be taken under Para (21) of the Tenth Schedule of the Constitution if any party member violates the directive and abstain from voting.

The session is likely to begin from 11am Monday.

In June 2018, a combined team of Narcotic and Affairs of Border (NAB) and police recovered a huge quantity of heroin of 4.595 kg and World is Yours (WIY) tablets and also cash, including demonetised notes during a raid at the official residence of the then Chandel ADC chairman Lukhosei Zou.

For more such stories, follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram. Download our Android App. Subscribe to our Website Notifications to stay updated.

Also Read


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Connect With Us



One arrested in WGH with over 9200 banned drugs, manhunt for more gang members on

The district police of West Garo Hills (WGH) informed that it is on the lookout for members of a drug peddling gang...

North-East to be favourite business destination post COVID-19 – Union Minister of State

Union Minister of State (Independent Charge), Development of North Eastern Region (DoNER), Dr Jitendra Singh has reiterated Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s vision...

Reason for my exit was blown out of proportion, says Hutovi Chishi

Taken aback and disturbed at what is being floated in social media and PTI sourced print media report following his exit as...

All Naga Students’ Association, Manipur (ANSAM) visits NSU site

The All Naga Students’ Association, Manipur (ANSAM) has demanded that the government addresses the National Sports University (NSU) site issue at the...

Manipur: Missing 4 years old boy found dead, police foil mob from torching house of suspect

Timely intervention by police on Sunday saved a house from torching by a furious mob in Manipur’s Thoubal district.