BJP’s Biren Singh wins floor test, gets support of 28 MLAs

CM Biren Singh’s BJP-led government has won the confidence motion by a voice vote in the 11th session of the 11th Manipur Legislative Assembly which began at 11am Monday.  The Nongthombam Biren Singh government secured 28 votes in favour in the Assembly which currently has 53 members in the House of 60.

The Opposition Congress voted 16, as against the ruling coalition which secured 28 votes. Speaker of the house Y Khemchand rejected demand by opposition for division voting, concluding the session with massive uproar by the opposition after the verdict was announced.

- Advertisement -

For more such stories, follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram. Download our Android App. Subscribe to our Website Notifications to stay updated.

Also Read


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Connect With Us



One dies of COVID-19 in Manipur

Death of a patient after a gap of four days took COVID-19 fatality tally of Manipur to 370, even as a single-day...

Gunmen attacks at ex-MLA’s residence in Manipur

Unidentified gunmen opened fire some shots at the house of a former MLA in Manipur’s Imphal West district after making a failed...

Naga People’s Front Legislature Party expresses appreciation: NSCN (K)

The Naga People's Front Legislature Party (NPFLP) has expressed its appreciation and welcomed the "Niki Sumi’s group of the NSCN-K for reviving the abrogated...

Normal classes for Class-IX and above resume as schools, colleges reopened in Manipur

After almost 11 months and amid the Covid-19 pandemic, schools and colleges in Manipur reopened on Wednesday for Classes 9 and above...

Villagers organised sit in protest over road diversion at T/Khullen

Pressing the Govt and concerned authority to maintain Status Quo of the original road alignment with respect to the National Highway Authority...