Double hit for Manipur as Sushila Chanu and Roshibina Devi conferred with Arjuna Award


Imphal: In a proud moment for Manipur, two of the national powerhouse State’s athletes, Naorem Roshibina Devi and Pukhrambam Sushila Chanu have been conferred with Arjuna Award for their exceptional achievements and contributions to the world of sports for India.

Altogether, 26 Indian sports persons from different fields were presented with the prestigious Arjuna Award 2023.

Also Read | Union Min Krishan Pal Gurjar Highlights Narendra Modi’s Commitment to NE Development; Emphasises PM’s Multiple Visits

President Droupadi Murmu presented Naorem Roshibina Devi and Pukhrambam Sushila Chanu the Arjuna Award 2023 at the National Sports Award held in Delhi today in recognition of their outstanding achievements in the field of Wushu and Hockey sports respectively.

Also Read | Guv Anusuiya Uikey emphasises media’s role in promoting peace speaking at Manipur Press Club’s 49th Foundation Day

Pukhrambam Sushila Chanu won one Bronze Medal in the 19th Asian Games held in Hangzhou, China in 2023; One Bronze Medal in the 22nd Commonwealth Games held in Birmingham, United Kingdom in 2022; and one Gold Medal in the FIH Nations Cup held in Valencia, Spain in 2022.

While, Naorem Roshibina Devi to her credit has won one Silver Medal in the 19th Asian Games held in Hangzhou, China in 2023; One Silver Medal in the World Wushu Championship held in Texas, United States of America in 2023; and one Gold Medal in the Moscow Wushu Stars Championship held in Moscow, Russia in 2023.

Also read | VS. Atem sworn in as Deputy Ato Kilonser of GPRN

Taking to X, chief minister N Biren Singh wishing both the ace sports stars the best in their future endeavours wrote that Sushila Chanu has carried forward the legacy of Manipur’s sporting capabilities with her hard work and dedication, inspiring thousands more to follow the lead. “Devi has done the Nation proud by bringing laurels for the country and receiving the prestigious Arjuna Award 2023,” he Xed.

The award comes as a refreshing news for the denizens of Manipur, a reason to celebrate amidst the doom and gloom news of violence.

Join our WhatsApp Channel today!

List of 2023 Arjuna Award winners

1) Ojas Pravin Deotale (archery)

2) Aditi Gopichand Swami (archery)

3) Murali Sreeshankar (athletics)

4) Parul Chaudhary (athletics)

5) Mohammad Hussamuddin (boxing)

6) R Vaishali (chess)

7) Mohammed Shami (cricket)

8) Anush Agarwalla (equestrian)

9) Divyakriti Singh (equestrian dressage)

10) Diksha Dagar (golf)

11) Krishan Bahadur Pathak (hockey)

12) Sushila Chanu (hockey)

13) Pawan Kumar (kabaddi)

14) Ritu Negi (kabaddi)

15) Nasreen (kho-kho)

16) Pinki (lawn bowls)

17) Aishwary Pratap Singh Tomar (shooting)

18) Esha Singh (shooting)

19) Harinder Pal Singh Sandhu (squash)

20) Ayhika Mukherjee (table tennis)

21) Sunil Kumar (wrestling)

22) Antim Panghal (wrestling)

23) Naorem Roshibina Devi (wushu)

24) Sheetal Devi (para archery)

25) Illuri Ajay Kumar Reddy (blind cricket)

26) Prachi Yadav (para canoeing)

About The Author

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments