First District Level Monitoring Committee meeting for Central Sector Scheme held: Churachandpur

Churachandpur: The first meeting of District Level Monitoring Committee (D-MC) for Central Sector Scheme (CSS) on “Formation and Promotion of 10,000 Farmer Producer Organizations (FPOs)” for Churachandpur District was held today at DC’s Office, Churachandpur.

In the press release issued by government of Manipur, the Committee was chaired by Shri Pawan Yadav, IAS, Deputy Commissioner & Chairman, D-MC deliberated on the strategy for implementation of the newly launched Central Sector Scheme (CSS) in Churachandpur district. The Scheme has been formulated by Department of Agriculture, Cooperation & Farmers’ Welfare under Ministry of Agriculture & Farmers’ Welfare as per the Union Budget 2019-20 announcements.

Thangchinkhup Guite, AGM-DD, NABARD gave a brief presentation on the concept of FPO, operational guidelines of the new Centre Sector Scheme of FPO. In order to form and promote FPOs in uniform and effective manner so as to achieve the target of formation of 10,000 new FPOs in 5 years in the country and to make the FPOs economically sustainable, initially there are three implementing agencies, namely, SFAC, NCDC and NABARD. Under the scheme, formation and promotion of FPOs will be based on Produce Cluster Area and financial support to new FPO at the rate up to maximum of Rs.18 lakh / FPO or actual, whichever is lesser is to be provided during three years from the year of formation. Equity Grant shall also be extended in the form of matching grant upto maximum limit of Rs.15.00 lakh per FPO which is based on Rs 2000 per member of FPO. Further, Credit Guarantee Fund (CGF) will be created to provide suitable credit guarantee cover to accelerate flow of institutional credit to the FPOs. As per the scheme, the FPO shall be formed and nurtured professionally by Community Based Business Organisation(CBBOs).

The Committee discussed the strategy for overall coordination of implementation of the scheme and also identified and approved 10 potential produce clusters where FPOs can be formed and promoted in the district. Members of the D-MC who attended the meeting are DAO as Member Secretary, AC to DC, CCpur, DDM, NABARD, Senior Scientist (KVK), District Horticulture Officer, District AH & Vety Officer, District Fishery Officer.

Ads 003 1
Ads 003 1

For more such stories, follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram. Download our Android App. Subscribe to our Website Notifications to stay updated.

Also Read


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


Connect With Us



Support Us
Support Us