Flag hoisting ceremony of Preshow Shimray BJP candidate 45-Chingai AC held at Ukhrul

Ukhrul: As the electoral battle and the polls date for the ensuing State general election draws closer, flag hoisting ceremony for BJP candidate of 45-Chingai (ST) assembly constituency, MK Preshow Shimray was held on Monday at his Khamphasom tang residence in Ukhrul.

The ceremony was attended by BJP leaders, party workers, area supporters and well wishers, among others.

Post the flag hoisting event, a public meeting was also held at Ukhrul town hall which was attended by BJP Manipur pradesh president, Adhikarimayum Sarda Devi; BJP vice president, Manipur pradesh cum Ukhrul in charge, CH Chidananda Singh, president ST Morcha, Manipur pradesh, Langjaikai Kamei, president BJP Ukhrul district, Yarthotthing Kashung and BJP Chingai AC candidate, MK Preshow Shimray, among others.

Also read: Ram Muivah (NPF) releases Vision Document for Manipur polls

It may be mentioned that four political parties namely BJP, NPF, and Congress have fielded their respective candidates in the two assembly constituencies of Ukhrul district’s 44-Ukhrul (ST) and 45-Chingai (ST) assembly constituency, while NPP, so far, has fielded one candidate in 45-Chingai (ST) AC.

In the 45-Chingai AC seat, BJP allotted party ticket to MK Preshow Shimray, former deputy speaker Manipur Legislative Assembly, while NPF has fielded Khashim Vashum, former NPF legislature; NPP Ningam Chamroy, retired IAS, and Sword Vashum for Congress, a retired IAAS respectively.

With the exception of NPP candidate, Ningam Chamroy, who is contesting for the first time, the other three candidates of Chingai AC have already taken part in the State electoral politics.

On the other hand, in the 44-Ukhrul AC, BJP have put up Somatai Shaiza, former national footballer, while Congress and NPF have fielded former legislature Alfred Kanngam Arthur and Ramnganing Muivah, retired Northeast Council secretary.

In the last 2017 State general election, NPF candidates, Leishiyo Keishing won the 43-Phungyar AC seat while Congress candidate Alfred Kanngam won 44-Ukhrul, and NPF candidate Khashim Vashum was elected to power in 45-Chingai AC under Ukhrul district.

- Advertisement -

For more such stories, follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram. Download our Android App. Subscribe to our Website Notifications to stay updated.

Also Read

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Connect With Us



Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
Support Us