Manik Saha set to be new Tripura CM as Biplab Deb resigns

(Photo: Biplab Kumar Deb/Twitter)

Agartala: Tripura chief minister, Biplab Kumar Deb on Saturday submitted his resignation letter to governor Satyadeo Narain Arya ahead of assembly polls next year. His resignation comes following reports of infighting within the BJP’s state unit.

It may be mentioned that, Biplab Deb recently visited New Delhi and met Union Home Minister Amit Shah and BJP president for a discussion on the party’s affairs in the Northeastern state.

Biplab Deb took to twitter and said, “I thank Central leadership & people of Tripura for giving me the responsibility to serve Tripura as a Chief Minister. I have wholeheartedly served my State & will always work for the betterment of my State. Tripura shall definitely march ahead in the path of devt. Jai Hind.

According to media report, Biplab Deb was quoted saying “Party is above all. I am a loyal worker of the BJP. I hope I have done justice to the responsibilities that were given to me — whether it was BJP state president or Tripura Chief Minister. I have worked for the overall development of Tripura, and to ensure peace for the people of the state.”

The party in a meeting today evening, joined by Union minister Bhupender Yadav, and national general secretary Vinod Tawde as central observers named Dr Manik Saha the new chief minister of Tripura.

Biplab Deb congratulated Dr Manik Saha, who was elected to Rajya Sabha recently and is also the Tripura state president of the BJP, as he took to twitter and said, “Congratulations and best wishes to Dr Manik Saha ji on being elected as the legislature party leader. I believe under PM Shri Narendra Modi Ji’s vision and leadership Tripura will prosper”.

Biplab became the chief minister in 2018 after ousting 25-year-rule of Communist Party of India.

About The Author

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments