Nagaland: NDPP and BJP announce candidates’ list

File photo

Dimapur: The ruling Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) and BJP have announced names of their official candidates for the February 27 assembly election of Nagaland.

The BJP has fielded 20 candidates and the NDPP 40 candidates. Nagaland has altogether 60 assembly constituencies.

It can be mentioned here that the NDPP and the BJP are on the seat-sharing basis in the assembly election of Nagaland.

Also read | Indefinite highway blockade in Thoubal against missing VDF personnel case

Interestingly, protests were witnessed in the past several days as supporters and aspiring candidates of the BJP of various constituencies demand that their respective constituencies should not be compromised to any other party.

Meanwhile, both the BJP and the NDPP have fielded three women candidates with two by the NDPP and one by the BJP.

The BJP has named Kahuli Sema (woman candidate) as its candidate for the at Atoizu assembly constituency. NPF legislator Picto Shohe is the sitting MLA of the constituency.

Related | Working Committee of NNPGs asks candidates to refrain from filing election nominations

Regarding the two women candidates of the NDPP, the party has fielded Hekani Jakhalu in Dimapur-III assembly constituency.  NPF-turned-NDPP MLA, Azheto Zhimomi is the sitting MLA, while Salhoutuonuo Kruse will contest as the NDPP candidate from Western Angami assembly constituency.


About The Author

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments