TNL President tenders his resignation

File Photo: Ukhrul Times

Ukhrul, August 9: Tangkhul Naga Long (TNL) president, David K Shimray has tendered his resignation addressed to vice president of TNL on Monday.

The resignation letter has been forwarded to Assembly Affairs of TNL.

Must read | No-confidence motion against TNL president nullified

Speaker of TNL Assembly Affairs, Shangam Shipo informed that in this regard, an emergency assembly of TNL has been fixed on August 16 at TNL Hall, Ukhrul to discuss the matter of the president’s resignation.

It is learnt that on 7 August 2023, David K Shimray has submitted his resignation. The emergency meeting that has been called on 16 August 2023 will decide the fate of his resignation.

Must read | UNC submits memorandum to PM Modi; 2 key points: i) translation of FA into reality Flag and Constitution ii) ‘Naga areas’ should not be touched

David K Shimray was elected as the 41st president of TNL on December 9, 2021 for a term of four years. He had secured 354 votes, beating his only rival Ngamreishang Tuikhar from Khangkhui village who received 132 votes out of the 486 total vote share in the December 2021 election.

Must read | Nagas in Manipur hold peace rallies in support of Framework Agreement to resolve Naga political issue

About The Author

1 1 vote
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments