17 candidates to contest for 3 seats in Kangpokpi dist


Kangpokpi: Independent candidate Thangminlen Kipgen on Friday had withdrawn his nomination from the 50-Kangpokpi Assembly Constituency for the forthcoming 12th Manipur Legislative Election, 2022.

With his withdrawal of nomination, three candidates – Nemcha Kipgen (BJP) Ngamkhohen Kipgen (INC) and Soshim Gurung JD(U) are left in the fray to contest in the 50-Kangpokpi AC for the first phase election to be held on February 28.

It is worth mentioning that candidates – Haokholet Kipgen (Independent), Lamtinthang Haokip (INC), Ngamthang Haokip (BJP), L. Johny Gangmei (JD-U), K. Lhouvum (NPP) and Th. Sanglou Maram (Independent) are in fray for the poll in the 51-Saitu (ST) AC.

Also read: Nomination filing closes for Ukhrul & Kamjong dists; Polls on March 5

On the other hand, candidates in 46-Saikul (ST) AC – Kenn Raikhan (Independent), Chungkhokai Doungel (Independent), Ch. Ajang Khongsai JD(U), Yamthong Haokip (BJP), Jamchinlen Lunkim (RPI), Kimneo Haokip Hangshing (KPA), Seikholal Haokip (NPP) and Lhingkim Haokip (INC) will fight the contest.

All together 17 candidates will be contesting the election in Kangpokpi district, 8 (eight) candidates from 46-Saikul (ST) AC, 3(three) from 50-Kangpokpi Assembly Constituency and 6 (six) candidates from the 51-Saitu (ST) AC. There are 166 polling stations in three Assembly Constituencies in Kangpokpi district – 56 polling stations in 46-Saikul (ST) AC, 42 in 50-Kangpokpi AC and 68 in 51 Saitu (ST) AC.

About The Author

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments