32nd Manipuri Language Day observed in Imphal

Newmai News Network

Imphal:  The 32nd Manipuri Language Day was observed widespread in Imphal on Sunday to commemorate the inclusion of Manipuri language in the 8th Schedule of the Indian Constitution.

Manipuri language was included in the 8th Schedule of the Indian constitution under the 71st Amendment Act on August 20, 1992.

The state level observance of the day was held in Imphal’s Iboyaima Shumang Leela Shanglen under the aegis of State Level Celebration Committee of Manipuri Language Day.

Also read | Tangkhul Welfare Society Mumbai organises Football Tournament to aid Welfare Summit 2023

Speaking on the occasion, Convener of the committee, Leihaothabam Sartchandra informed that efforts are on to include among the classical languages of India.

He recalled the struggle by the people of the state for inclusion of the language in the 8th Scheduled of Indian Constitution and before 1992, the language was not among the 14 languages of the country recognized by the constitution.

After prolonged agitations of the people, the language along with Konkani and Nepali was added to the 8th Scheduled by amending the constitution.

Also read | Kuki villagers killing ‘unwarrantable intrusion’ in Naga jurisdiction by (alleged) KYKL and MNRF: NSCN-IM

After being included in the 8th Scheduled, now Manipuri with Meitei scripts is being studied upto the level of university. The Manipuri is a lingua franca language of the people of the state, he said.

He claimed that there is significant improvement in the language since it became one of the scheduled languages of the country while stressing the need for popularizing the language.

President Noaroibam Indramani of Naharol Sahitya Premee Samiti, speaking on the occasion, said that the development of the language lies with the people speaking the language.

Also read | Unknown miscreants shoot 3 youths in Thoubal Dist; police recovers weapons

The podium of the celebration function was adorned by president Longjam Joychandra Singh of Manipur Sahitya Parishad, president, Huirem Behari Singh of Cultural Forum Manipur, president Noaroibam Indramani of Naharol Sahitya Premee Samiti, lifetime president Ph Gunachandra Sharma of Manipur State Sumang Leela Council, chairman L Surjakanta Sharma of Film Forum Manipur and president Syed Ahmed of Writers’ Union, Imphal.

- Advertisement -

For more such stories, follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram. Download our Android App. Subscribe to our Website Notifications to stay updated.

Also Read

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Connect With Us



Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
Support Us