Election for Speaker of Manipur Assembly on March 24

Imphal: The election for Speaker of the 12th Manipur Legislative Assembly will be held on March 24, an official source said today.

An order of the Manipur Governor, La Ganesan passed today, fixed March 24 at 9 am as the date and time for holding election to the office of the Speaker of the Assembly.

The Governor issued the order in exercise of the powers conferred by the sub-rule (1) of rule 10 of the Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Business of the Manipur Assembly.

Currently, BJP MLA, S Rajen Singh, who was appointed as the Pro-tem Speaker by the Governor, is looking after the charge of the Speaker. The Pro-tem Speaker administered the oath to the newly elected members of the state Assembly on March 14.

Also read: Newly elected MLA 41-Chandel (ST) AC SS. Olish feted

The election of Speaker was delayed till date even as the 12th Manipur Assembly was constituted a week ago, on March 14 last, the day on which the Pro-tem Speaker administered oaths to the new members. The delay in the formation of the new government might be the main reason behind the weeklong withholding of the election of the Speaker.

Even though the results of the elections to the 12th Manipur Legislative Assembly were declared on March 10 with BJP securing absolute majority, the government was formed only on Monday with N Biren Singh taking oath as chief minister of the state for the second consecutive term.

Five MLAs (four from BJP and one from NPF) took oath as cabinet ministers on the same day.


- Advertisement -

For more such stories, follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram. Download our Android App. Subscribe to our Website Notifications to stay updated.

Also Read

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Connect With Us



Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
Support Us
Support Us