Meghalaya: Former Congress leader joins AITC

Photo: News18

Shillong: Former Congress leader of Meghalaya, Augustine D Marak today joined the opposition All India Trinamool Congress (AITC).

This came a day after he resigned as the Vice-President of the Meghalaya Pradesh Congress Committee (MPCC).

Along with him, 200 supporters of different parties have also reportedly joined the Trinamool Congress.

Speaking at the program, Marak said, “Some reports have come out suggesting that the votes might get split between Congress and Trinamool Congress and this might benefit the party that is not fit to win. This is why I am taking Vincent Pala head-on for abandoning Garo Hills. People from Kolkata have visited this part multiple times but he couldn’t come here from Shillong.”

Also read | Two-day National Seminar on unsung heroes of NE India begins at Mt. Everest College

Praising the ideals of Trinamool Congress that “call for standing up” for the rights of minorities, Augustine D Marak said, “When the funds for Mother Teresa charity [Missionaries of Charity] were blocked by the Centre, our Chief Minister was silent. Neither your MLA James Sangma nor MP Agatha Sangma said a word against the move. But Trinamool MPs from West Bengal – Mahua Moitra and Derek O’Brien – spoke on our behalf.”

Expressing his delight at the support extended by his uncle, Trinamool Congress leader Rupa Marak said, “With the support from uncle and several leaders who are here to support me, I am very confident that we will manage to get through this election. On the counting day, we will come out with flying colours.”

Also read | Manipur: Ukhrul’s Chanchui Khayi wins Sunsilk Mega Miss North East 2022

Marak was a three-time MLA of Dadenggre in 2008,1998 and 1993. He is also the former minister of Food, Civil Supplies & Consumer Affairs, and Home (Civil Defence and Home Guards) of the Government of Meghalaya. He was the Samajwadi Party candidate from Raksamgre in the 2013 assembly elections following which also became the NPP candidate from Tikrikilla in the 2018 assembly elections.

The joining programme was also attended by Rupa M Marak, Meghalaya TMC candidate and Block President Dadenggre, Jengga Jilinga M Marak, District convenor in-charge for Phulbari and Tikrikilla, Polmonsing Sangma, advisor, Dadenggre TMC Block Committee, Mickel G Momin, Meghalaya TMC Working President, Dadenggre, Boaz Marak, Meghalaya TMC General Secretary, Dadenggre, Levastone T Sangma, Ex-MDC, Jengjal.


Tripura | BJP will form government in Tripura: Assam CM Himanta Sarma

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments