Meghalaya: Opposition parties emerge victorious


Newmai News Network

Shillong: In a huge setback to BJP-backed Meghalaya Democratic Alliance (MDA), opposition Voice of the People Party (VPP) and Congress won the Shillong and Tura parliamentary seats respectively, the results of which were declared today.  

Saleng A Sangma of the Indian National Congress defeated Tura MP Agatha Sangma by a massive margin of over 1.55 lakh votes of the total 6.74 lakh voters.

Also read | Poumai Naga Union Dissociates from UNC and Other Naga Frontal Organizations

Agatha secured over 2.28 lakh votes of the 8 lakh plus eligible voters of Tura Lok Sabha constituency having 24 Assembly constituencies.

In Shillong, Ricky AJ Syngkon of the opposition Voice of the People’s Party defeated three times sitting MP Vincent H Pala of the Congress by a massive margin of over 3.7 lakh votes.

Chief electoral officer (CEO) Dr B

About The Author

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments