29 Tribal Museums Inaugurated in Manipur

The 29 tribal museums constructed at 10 different districts of the State was inaugurated by chief minister N Biren at a solemn function.


With a vision to preserve and showcase the rich culture, tradition, art and crafts of various tribes of Manipur, Chief Minister N. Biren Singh today virtually inaugurated 29 tribal museums constructed at 10 different districts of the State at a solemn function held at Chief Minister’s Secretariat.

The Chief Minister said that the government decided to construct a total of 31 tribal museums in the State under the aegis of Manipur State Archaeology, Department of Art & Culture. Out of these, six museums were constructed at Chandel, three museums at Tengnoupal, five museums at Kangpokpi, six museums at Churachandpur, four museums at Senapati, three museums at Tamenglong, one museum each at Pherzawl, Ukhrul, Noney and Imphal East. The remaining 2 museums will be completed at the earliest, he added.

It may be mentioned that these museums were constructed by the concerned Deputy Commissioners in consultation with the respective tribal leaders. The museums which were inaugurated today are museums for Anal, Chothe, Lamkang, Monsang, Moyon, Tarao, Aimol, Maring, Mate, Chiru, Kharam,Koireng, Thadou, Purum, Gangte, Paite, Zou, Kom, Simte, Vaiphei, Thangal, Mao, Maram, Inpui, Zeme, Hmar, Tangkhul, Rongmei and Kabui tribes.

Minister for PHE Losii Dikho, Minister for Education S. Rajen, Deputy Speaker of Manipur Legislative Assembly K. Robindro, Chairman of Manipur Building and Others Construction Worker’s Board H. Dingo and others were present during the function.


0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments