Call for ending SoO with Kuki UGs by 34 MLAs gets louder, 4 more MLAs join demand

File photo: KNO/Facebook

Imphal: Following a three-point demand memorandum submitted to the union home minister Amit Shah through Manipur security advisor Kuldeep Singh on Wednesday by 34 MLAs (of which 7 are Nagas) from BJP and its alliance partners, 4 more valley based MLAs have fielded their support citing they were never informed earlier.

The 4 MLAs — Uripok MLA Khwairakpam Raghumani Singh, Heirok MLA Th Radheshyam Singh, Langthabal MLA Karam Shyam and Wangjing Tentha MLA Paonam Brojen Singh — in another memorandum submitted to Amit Shah on Thursday said they were “never informed for the meeting and signature campaign of MLAs regarding the non extension of Suspension of Operatoin (SoO) agreement with kuki militants.”

Must read | Fourth BJP legislator steps down as Chairman MANIREDA in Manipur

Seeking the union home minister’s constant intervention in the prevailing situation in Manipur, the 4 MLAs urged Amit Shah to bring back peace and normalcy at the earliest. The memorandum also said it share the same opinion with the people of the state of Manipur regarding the demand for non-extension of SoO agreement with Kuki militants, which they stated may challenge the unity and integrity of Manipur.

The updated 38 list of MLAs

7 Naga MLAs: Mao MLA L Dikho, Phungyar MLA Leishiyo Keishing, Tamenglong MLA Janghemlung Panmei, Tamei MLA Awangbow Newmai, Chingai MLA Khashim Vashum, Karong MLA J Kumo Sha and Ukhrul MLA Ram Muivah.

3 Meetei Pangal MLAs: Lilong MLA Md Abdul Nasir, Kshetrigao MLA Sheikh Noorul Hassan.

Must read | Manipur Hills and Valley: Ages of living together separately

28 Meetei MLAs: Keirao MLA L Rameshwor, Moirang MLA Th Shanti, Khurai MLA L Susindro, Thongju MLA Th Biswajit, Singjamei MLA Y Khemchand, Lamsang MLA S Rajen, Patsoi MLA Sapam Keba, Sagolband MLA RK Imo, Wangkhei MLA Th Arunkumar, Lamlai MLA Kh Ibomcha, Sekmai MLA H Dingo, Keishamthong MLA Nishikant Sapam, Naoriya Pakhanglakpa MLA Sagolshem Kebi Devi, Bishnupur MLA K Govindas, Nambol MLA Th Basanta, Thangmeiband MLA Kh Joykisan, Konthoujam MLA Dr S Ranjan, Wabgai MLA Dr Usham Deben Singh, Mayang Imphal MLA K Robindro, Wangoi MLA Kh Loken, Kumbi MLA S Premchandra, Thanga MLA Tongbram Robindro, Oinam MLA Irengbam Nalini Singh, Andro MLA Th Shyamkumar, Uripok MLA Khwairakpam Raghumani Singh, Heirok MLA Th Radheshyam Singh, Langthabal MLA Karam Shyam and Wangjing Tentha MLA Paonam Brojen Singh.

The memorandum by the 34 MLAs demanded maximum security deployment at Moreh, Churachandpur and all vulnerable areas in the Imphal valley to save and resettle all communities; withdrawal of SoO immediately to control armed Kuki undergrounds presently active; deployment of forces at all strategic visible places in all the affected areas.

Must read | 10 tribal legislators in Manipur seek separation from the State – ‘Separate Administration’

It may be recalled that 10 elected legislators representing the Chin-Kuki-Mizo-Zomi hill tribals of the Manipur Legislative Assembly in a press statement last Friday sought for a Separate Administration in Manipur to live “peacefully as neighbours with the Sate of Manipur.” The 10 MLAs accusing the existing Government of Manipur said, “the unabated violence that began on 3rd May, 2023 in Manipur perpetrated by majority Meiteis tacitly supported by existing Government of Manipur against the Chin-Kuki-Mizo-Zomi hill tribals has already partitioned the State and effected a total separation from the State of Manipur.”

In another news, curfew has been relaxed for Imphal East and Imphal West districts from 5 am to 4 pm from May 19.

Must read | Meetei and Naga only 2 indigenous community in Manipur: World Meetei Council

About The Author

3 2 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments