CM N Biren resigns to pave way for formation of new government in Manipur

Imphal: As a formality, Manipur chief minister N Biren Singh on Friday tendered his resignation as chief minister to pave the way for formation of a new government. The results of the Manipur assembly polls were declared on Thursday.

Meanwhile, while accepting the chief minister’s resignation, Manipur Governor La Ganesan asked the former to serve as a caretaker chief minister till the new government is formed in the state.

Biren Singh’s resignation came barely a day after the declaration of results of the two-phase polls to the 60-seat Manipur Assembly with the ruling BJP securing an absolute majority by winning 32 seats.

The tenure of Manipur Legislative Assembly is scheduled to end on March 19. The new government is likely to form before the end of the tenure of the current Assembly.

The chief minister accompanied by some newly BJP MLA-elects met the Governor this afternoon and tendered his resignation.

“Called on Hon’ble Governor of Manipur at the Raj Bhavan to tender my resignation from the post of Chief Minister today. I will now be serving as the caretaker Chief Minister,” Singh wrote on Facebook.

After coming out from the Raj Bhavan, the caretaker chief minister said that the new government will be installed before March 19.

He said that he tendered resignation from the chief minister’s post after a formal cabinet meeting held earlier as per provisions of the Constitution.

Also read: BJP wins absolutely majority, to form next govt in Manipur

The cabinet resolved to tender resignation of the council of ministers to the Governor today.

Central leaders of the BJP will be arriving in Imphal to elect a new leader of the BJP legislator party and to stake claim for the formation of the new government, he said.

Biren Singh claimed that NPF MLA-elects and few independent MLAs have given their assurances to extend their support to the BJP while forming the new government.

Independent MLAs secured three seats, and of them, Nishikant Sapam who secured the Keishamthong constituency has pledged his support to the BJP, in a letter written to the Governor today.

The ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won 32 seats – just enough to be able to form the next government as the counting of votes for the Manipur assembly was completed late on Thursday.

NPP emerged as the second largest party by winning seven seats while JD(U) secured six seats and the Congress and NPF ended up with five seats each. Kuki People’s Alliance (KPA) also won in two seats.

The results also saw five women winning the elections which is the highest-ever in the electoral history of the state.

They are SS Olish (from Chandel AC), former minister Nemcha Kipgen (Kangpokpi AC), Sagolshem Kebi Devi (Naoriya Pakhanglakpa AC), all BJP, and Irengbam Nalini Devi of NPP (Oinam AC) and Kimneo Haokip Hangsingh of KPA (from Saikul AC).


Also read: Hannah Lalhlanpuii: When Blackbirds Fly

- Advertisement -

For more such stories, follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram. Download our Android App. Subscribe to our Website Notifications to stay updated.

Also Read

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Connect With Us



Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
Support Us
Support Us