Four newly elected MLAs take oath as members of Manipur Assembly

Lilong constituency MLA Antas Khan said that he will decide the proposal of the chief minister after consultation with the people of his constituency.

The four newly elected MLAs took oath as members of the Manipur Legislative Assembly on Thursday.
The MLAs who were administered oath are Ngamthang Haokip (BJP), Agriculture minister Oinam Lukhoi (BJP) and Paonam Brojen (BJP) and Y Antas Khan (Independent).

Speaker Y Khemchand administered the oaths to the newly elected members who were elected in the recently concluded by-polls held on November 7.

They were declared elected as members of the state Assembly on Tuesday, the day counting of votes for the by-polls to the four Assembly segments was held.

The oath taking ceremony was held in the conference hall of the state Assembly which was inaugurated today ahead of the oath taking ceremony.

Meanwhile, Manipur chief minister N Biren Singh who attended the ceremony said that BJP has invited the newly elected independent candidate to support his coalition government.

Independent MLA, Y Antas Khan won the by-poll in the Lilong constituency where there was a triangular fight among the Congress candidate and another independent candidate who is ex-MLA Md Abdul Nasir supported by the ruling BJP.

MLA two

Talking to reporters on Thursday, Antas Khan said that he will decide the proposal of the chief minister after consultation with the people of his constituency. 

To mention here, the by-poll in Lilong constituency was necessitated after the sitting Congress MLA Md Abdul Nasir resigned from the state Assembly on August 10, 2020, the day the state Assembly discussed a confidence motion on the N Biren led BJP’s coalition government. He had resigned with six other sitting Congress MLAs. But, unlike the other five, he did not join the BJP and later chose to contest the by-poll to retain his seat as an independent candidate.

- Advertisement -

For more such stories, follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram. Download our Android App. Subscribe to our Website Notifications to stay updated.

Proudly Hosted on

Also Read


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Connect With Us



Assam Rifles carry out inspection of SoO Camps

In order to ensure adherence of Suspension of Operation (SoO) ground rules by signatory underground insurgent cadres, Churachandpur Battalion Assam Rifles carried...

Hima Das Takes Oath as DSP in Assam Police

India’s ace sprinter from Assam Hima Das took oath as a Deputy Superintendent of Assam Police in presence of imminent state ministers...

ADCs to protect the rights of Tribal communities of North East: Lok Sabha Speaker, Om Birla

Lok Sabha Speaker, Om Birla has asserted that the autonomous district councils (ADCs) hold a pivotal place in the process of local...

Assam, Bengal, Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Puducherry Assembly poll schedule declared

The Election Commission Friday announced schedule for the Assembly elections to the four states Assam, West Bengal, Kerala and Tamil Nadu and...

VKL feted Padma Shri Guru Rewben Mashangva

In recognition for achieving one of the highest civilian award of India, The Veikhang Katamnao Long (VKL) felicitated the well-decorated son of...