Manipur Congress president resigns, 8 Congress MLAs to join BJP today

Manipur Pradesh Congress Committee (MPCC) president Govindas Konthoujam resigned from his party post today including eight other Congress MLAs who will join Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), sources said.

Govindas Konthoujam from Bishnupur Assembly Constituency was a six-time consecutively elected Congress MLA.

Former deputy chief minister and Congress Working Committee (CWC) member Gaikhangam Gangmei earlier said that Congress is aiming to bag not less than 45 of 60 seats for the party Mission 2022 as Manipur is scheduled for Assembly election early 2022.

It may be mentioned that the BJP national president Jagat Prakash Nadda had formally appointed Adhikarimayum Sharda Devi as state president of BJP Manipur Pradesh on June 20. Sarda Devi had asserted right after taking the post of BJP Manipur Pradesh president that the immediate task before the party is to work towards the magical figure of capturing at least 40 seats in the next Assembly elections, when Manipur goes to polls in early 2022.

- Advertisement -

For more such stories, follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram. Download our Android App. Subscribe to our Website Notifications to stay updated.

Proudly Hosted on A2Hosting

Also Read


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

May 2021 Issue | Out Now!

UT Mag Cover ad

Connect With Us



Curfew extended till August 3 in Manipur amid surge in Covid-19

Amid high surged in daily detection of COVID-19 virus, Home department, government of Manipur on Wednesday has extended curfew for another seven...

Manipur state accords Hero’s welcome to Mirabai Chanu

Government of Manipur and people of the State today accorded hero’s welcome to Tokyo Olympics Silver Medalist Km. Saikhom Mirabai Chanu. On...

Need for Anaesthetist and Medicine Specialist highlighted: CMO Chandel

Hl. Lordson Anal, Chairman Japhou Bazar Authority/Board along with Ethar Erur Media visited Chandel CMO office today for a serious talk regarding...

SC adjourns hearing of OoP on Manipur MLA disqualification case

The Supreme Court has adjourned the final disposal of a case pertaining to the appointment of 12 MLAs as Parliamentary Secretaries in...

Fully vaccinated persons entering Manipur from outside State exempted from mandatory testing

In what was a big relieve for people entering Manipur from outside the State, an orders of the Governor of Manipur has...