MLA Khashim Vashum inaugurates Raphei Gate, Calls for violence free poll

Vashum urged area people to cast their vote in the atmosphere of peace and not create poll violence in the name of their chosen candidates. "Raphei unity and love is what sets us apart," a good quality being passed down by forefathers.

Ukhrul: MLA Khashim Vashum inaugurated Raphei gate no 2 at Halang village along Ukhrul to Tadubi National Highway on wednesday.

It was inaugurated in the presence of Tuisem Kamkara, president incharge, Tangkhul Naga Long; SA Ramnganing, president Tangkhul Naga Wungnao Long, Dearson Chamroy, chairman, Ato Longphang, Somipam Vashum, president Raphei Katamnao Long and Wungmaling Huileng, headman, Halang village.

Speaking at the occasion, MLA Khashim Vashum said that he is passionate for constructing gate as it reminds the people the place where they belong and were the are raised, while serving a quick reminder to people who return from outside to cleanse their misdeeds, if any, and enter the gate with an open heart.

It also reminds them that they would soon be leaving their area, the place they call home, the sitting MLA of Chingai assembly constituency added.

It may be mentioned that MLA Khashim was facing disqualification besides other 11 MLAs on the ground of holding Office of Profit.

In what was a big relief for the 12 MLAs including Chingai and Phungyar kendra sitting MLAs of the 11th Manipur Legislative Assembly who are facing disqualification over Office of Profit, LA Ganesan, governor of Manipur in exercise of the power conferred upon him (governor) under Article 192 (I) of the Constitution of India had on Wednesday declared that they do not incur disqualification on the ground of Office of Profit, and accordingly had dismissed the complaint filed by DD. Thaisii of Congress.

Emphasising that God has already decided who should represent the area, Vashum urged area people to cast their vote in the atmosphere of peace and not create poll violence in the name of their chosen candidates.

Also read: BJP organises booth political awareness campaign cum social mobilisation at Jessami

“Raphei unity and love is what sets us apart,” Vashum said and urged to value the good quality being passed down by forefathers.

With education as one of his top priority, he said one hostel each will be constructed at Phungcham and Jessami village at the earliest, and exhorted Raphei Katamnao Long to continue looking into the problems and difficulties facing the students and address those grievances.

He also thanked Halang village headman and his council members for allotting the right place for constructing the gate.

Raphei gate no 2 Halang

Organised by Raphei Katamanao Saklong, the programme was attended by Raphei Wungnao Long general secretary, village headmen, youth presidents, chairmen, TKS VP, former ADC members, women society, party workers, Halang villagers and well wishers.

Driving home the symbolic significance Raphei gate holds in the lives of the area people, SA Ramnganing, president, Tangkhul Naga Wungnao Long said, “This gate might mean nothing for others, but it goes far beyond the surface meaning as it shows where we belong and exhibit our true identity.”

Appreciating the novel work taken up by the area sitting MLA, he said Raphei Wungnao Long was formed with the sole intent to come together and built a better Raphei through love and unity, and not to encroach in other Tangkhul areas.

Today’s inauguration was a byproduct of building a bridge and maintaining a connection between the people representative and the Council, he said, adding that as Raphei is known for its hospitality, we need to walk the talk while promoting our rich tradition and custom. “Let this symbolic gate be a blessing for all the visiting tourists and not just for the area people,” SA Ramnganing asserted.

Somipam Vashum, president RKL thanked and welcomed all the congregation for their presence and making the event a successful one.

It may be mentioned that the High Court of Manipur on September 17, 2020 struck down Manipur Parliamentary Secretary (Appointment, Salary and Allowances and Miscellaneous Provisions) Act, 2012, and the Manipur Parliamentary (Appointment, Salary and Allowances and Miscellaneous Provisions) Repealing Act, 2018.

The 12 MLAs are L Susindro, N Indrajit, Dr S Ranjan, S Subashchandra, K Robindro, Leishiyo Keishing, L Rameshwor, Th Satyabrata, H Dingo, Khasim Vashum, Awangbow Newmai and Asab Uddin.

Manipur Congress had appealed to the then governor Najma Heptulla on the matter. The governor had sought the view of the Election Commission. However, due to lack of response from the EC on time, the Congress MLA had filed the writ petition at the Supreme Court.

- Advertisement -

For more such stories, follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram. Download our Android App. Subscribe to our Website Notifications to stay updated.

Also Read

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Connect With Us



Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
Support Us
Support Us