NDPP holds their 4TH General Conference

Rio expounding on the party motto, “Deeds not words,” said it is not only for the party leaders and legislators but all should make contributions for the growth of the party and serve the society in a better way.


Kohima: Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) held its 4th General Conference at their newly constructed NDPP Office, Kohima.

The convention began with the hoisting of the NDPP flag and the inauguration of the newly constructed six storey of its building by the NDPP President Chingwang Konyak and Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio respectively.

Addressing the gathering, Rio appreciated all the rank of party workers for their tireless and continuous support to the party.

He also urged the party workers to know the government policies, programmes and developmental activities that were carried out by the present government. Referring to ULBs and RIIN issues, he urged the party people to know the pros and cons of government policies and transmit correct information to the grassroot people. 

He called upon the party workers to work hard and strengthen the party stand with collective responsibility. “Our party symbol is more of innovation and updating the people in the emergence of a global village,” he said.

Expounding on the party motto “Deeds not words,” he said it is not only for the party leaders and legislators but all should make contributions for the growth of the party and serve the society in a better way.

NDPP president Chingwang Konyak, in his presidential address expressed his appreciation to Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio for taking keen interest and initiative and constructing a huge and beautiful building for the NDPP Office.

He said that NDPP was formed on 17th May, 2017, in response to the people’s desire for a Political Party that will carry the voice and aspirations of the masses and respond to a need for change in the system of governance and perspectives to development.

“The NDPP Party has committed to stable, strong leadership and policies that will change the destiny of the state in a positive manner,” he said.

He also said that the party strength in the Nagaland Legislative Assembly has increased from 18 members to 21 members  with the joining of Kaito Aye, MLA, from the JDU Party and Imnatiba Jamir, MLA, and Khurno, MLA, from the NPP Party. Besides, an independent MLA, Tongpang Ozukum, has been admitted as an Associate Member of the NDPP Legislators Party. Another independent MLA, Yangseo had also applied for the Associate membership of the NDPP Legislators Party but his request is yet to be considered.

He also said the unresolved political issue has created hurdles on all fronts, particularly on the economy and all-round progress of Nagaland.

With reference to the NDPP manifesto, he said Nagaland is in dire need of good governance especially relating to transparency and accountability in government. “To usher transparency in governance, and to battle corruption is also one of the objectives of the party in our Party Constitution. I feel that serious initiatives and efforts are needed to achieve transparency and good governance.”

He also encouraged and urged the party workers to work tirelessly to strengthen the party at the booth level and highlight the achievements of the government. “We are going to the asembly poll sometime in the first part of 2023. As a ruling party, the party has both advantages and disadvantages. An anti-incumbency may work for us.”

Short speeches were delivered by minister G Kaito Aye, NLA speaker Sharingain, advisor Mhathung Yanthan and MP (Lok Sabha) Tokheho Yepthomi.

The formal programme was chaired by Alemtemshi Jamir, working president & convenor of the organizing committee.

Vikali A Zhimomi, President NDPP Women Organization, Kelhouneizo Yhome, President, NDPP Youth Organization and Abu Metha, NDPP Secretary General gave their respective reports.

In the election committee report, H Chuba Chang, Senior Vice President & MLA announced that Chingwang Konyak, Abu Metha and John Murry have been re-elected as NDPP president, secretary general and treasurer for another  term 2021-2024.

Other office bearers will be notified shortly, he said.


Earlier, the programme started with an invocation prayer by Rev. Yamyap Konyak, state chaplain, while a welcome address was delivered by A Nyamnyei Konak, working president. Vote of thanks was pronounced by Charlie Sekhose, senior Vice President & convenor, reception committee.


Nuzota Swuro, working president & convenor, resolution committee, read out the resolutions adopted at the general convention.

The Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) was established with the vision of reflecting and protecting regional identity with a national outlook which is conducive with the changing times in the global context.  

Today, the world has become a global village and the people of Nagaland too have an aspiration and a yearning for economic and sustainable development that is at par globally.

With changing scenarios and different realities, it is now time to pursue the Naga aspirations through roadmaps that are universally appreciated and in tune with the ethos of humanity and mutual respect.

There is a burning ambition amongst our people to get recognition and find our own footing in the changed environment of the regional, national and international realities in the pursuit of success and excellence. The NDPP has been established as a political party to help promote, establish and push forward the aspirations of the people.

Our symbol of the “Globe” signifies our commitment towards leading our people into the global forum with our motto “Facta non Verba” (Deeds not words) as our stepping stone towards that commitment which will be based on meritocracy, youth empowerment, gender equality, farmers welfare, transparency, accountability and good governance.

Keeping these as our benchmark, the 4th General Convention of the Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party held on the 23d of November 2021 unanimously adopts the following resolutions: 

About The Author

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments