Nitish Kumar’s JD(U) dissolves its unit in Nagaland


Kohima: In a dramatic turn of events in Nagaland politics, the Janata Dal (United) has dissolved its Nagaland state committee on Thursday, citing that the Nagaland State JD (U) president of the party, Senchumo NSN Lotha submitted a letter of support to the Nationalist Democratic Peoples Party-BJP alliance government without consulting the central party.

A press communique in this regard was issued by Afaque Ahmad Khan, national general secretary and party’s in-charge for northeast wrote, “Nagaland State president of our party has given letter of support to the chief minister of Nagaland without consulting the central party, its high indiscipline and arbitrary.”

Must read | Neiphiu Rio sworn in as Nagaland Chief Minister for the fifth time

Nitish Kumar’s JD (U) further wrote, “the party has dissolved Nagaland state committee with immediate effect.”

The development came hours after the party’s Nagaland president and its lone MLA Jwenga Seb from Tseminyu constituency submitted a letter of support to the NDPP-BJP government.


The ruling NDPP and BJP won a comfortable total 37 seats in the 40:20 alliance seat sharing arrangement. NDPP stacked up 25 seats while BJP won 12 seats in the 60-member opposition-less Nagaland Legislative Assembly polls held on February 27.

On March 7, T. R. Zeliang and Y. Patton were sworn-in as deputy chief ministers of Nagaland. Other newly sworn-in cabinet ministers are G. Kaito Aye, Jacob Zhimomi, K.G. Kenye, P. Paiwang Konyak, Metsubo Jamir, Temjen Imna Along, C.L. John, Salhoutuonuo Kruse andBashangmongba Chang.

Also read | Conrad takes oath as chief minister for second consecutive term

Recruitment March 23 1

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments