Neiphiu Rio sworn in as Nagaland Chief Minister for the fifth time

Photo: Narendra Modi/ Twitter

Kohima: Neiphiu Rio was sworn-in as the chief minister of Nagaland for the fifth time today.

The swearing-in ceremony was attended by Prime Minister, Narendra Modi, Union Minister of Home Affairs, Amit Shah, Chief Minister of Assam, Himanta Biswa Sarma, president of Bharatiya Janata Party, J. P. Nadda, and a host of dignitaries, officials from various political parties, and the general public. The event was held at the Capital Cultural Hall in Kohima.

Meghalaya | Conrad takes oath as chief minister for second consecutive term

T. R. Zeliang and Y. Patton were also sworn-in as deputy chief ministers of Nagaland. The newly sworn-in cabinet ministers are G. Kaito Aye, Jacob Zhimomi, K.G. Kenye, P. Paiwang Konyak, Metsubo Jamir, Temjen Imna Along, C.L. John, Salhoutuonuo Kruse andBashangmongba Chang.

The oath-taking ceremony was administered by Governor of Nagaland, La Ganesan.

Also read | Manik Saha set to become Chief Minister of Tripura; Oath-taking ceremony on March 8

During the programme, the national anthem was sung by the Music Academy, Kohima (TAFMA), and the Police Band. 

The invocation was pronounced by Temjenmongba Sempo, Pastor, Kohima Ao Baptist Church. Special performances, ‘Hallelujah Chorus’ by the Cantamus Choir (TAFMA), and ‘This is me’ by the Bright Lights (TAFMA) were the highlights of the swearing-in ceremony programme.


About The Author

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments