UNC elects new executive council for 2022-26; Naga Hoho congratulates

File photo of UNC.

Senapati, Nov 30: With the end of the previous tenure, a new executive council of the United Naga Council (UNC) headed by Ng. Lorho as the President was elected on November 29 at a general election held at Maram Union Secretariat, Senapati.

The Election Commission of the United Naga Council (UNC) headed by K. Raisong as the Chief Election Commission of the UNC, 2022 elected the following as the new executives for the tenure 2022-26.Newly elected UNC executive include Ng. Lorho as the President, S. Milan as the Vice President, Vareiyo Shatsang as the General Secretary, S. Stephen Lamkang as the Asst. General Secretary, Koruphun Tantanga as the Social & Culture Secretary, Heutwalung James as the Information & Publicity Secretary and Paul Chothe as Assembly Speaker. Remaining posts of the Finance Secretary, Dy. Assembly Speaker, Assembly Secretary and Dy. Assembly Secretary are stated to be filled up in the forthcoming Presidential meeting.

Also read | Chandel Naga Peoples Organisation condemns

Mention may be made that the newly elected UNC President Ng. Lorho, s/o Ngaino is from Tunggam village under Senapati district and belong to Poumai Naga community. He had served as the former President of the Poumai Naga Union from 2010-13, President, Naga People’s Organization in 2015, Vice President of the United Naga Council (UNC) from 2017-18, Advisor to Poumai Naga Union and member of the Joint Committee on Covid-19, Manipur, representing the United Naga Council (UNC). Newly elected General Secretary Vareiyo Shatsang of the council was the former President of the All Tribal Students Union, Manipur (ATSUM). He belongs to Tangkhul community.

Imphal | Danish band, MLTR charms Imphal fans, biggest international show in Imphal yet

Oath taking and handing over of files is expected to take place on December 5 next as according to a source received from the executives

Meanwhile, the Naga Hoho has congratulated the newly elected United Naga Council (UNC) executives and “assembly officials” for the tenure 2022-2026. The Naga Hoho also extended its best wishes to the new team led by NG Lorho as the new president, vice-president Milan S, general secretary Vareiyo Satshang, assistant general secretary S. Stephen Lamkang, culture secretary Koruphun Tantanga, information secretary James T and assembly speaker Paul Chothe.

Must read | Chris Norman (Smokie) show postponed indefinitely; MLTR band arrives in Imphal

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments