United Naga Council constitutes Peace Committee for restoration of normalcy


Senapati, May 8: Considering the gravity of the prevailing situation “looming at large and void of sanity” in the state of Manipur, the United Naga Council (UNC) informed Newmai News Network tonight it has constituted a Peace Committee.

According to the Naga body, this initiative is taken for “urgent restoration of normalcy in the state”.

Must read | United Naga Council Condemns Violence, Appeals For Peace

UNC president NG. Lorho said that the Naga body is doing this in the larger interest of “all the ethnic communities living in the State of Manipur”.

Former UNC president G. Gaingam has been appointed by the UNC as convenor of the Peace Committee while another former UNC president S Kho John has been appointed as co-convenor of the committee.

Must read | Over 20,000 Inmates In Relief Camps Across Manipur Under Dire Need Of Immediate Help

The members of the Peace Committee are Samson Remei, former president of UNC, KS Paul Leo, former president of UNC, L. Adani, former president of UNC, David K Shimray, president of Tangkhul Naga Long (TNL), Solomon Arow, president of Naga People ‘s Organisation (NPO), R Machundoubou, president of Joint Tribe Council of Zeme, Liangmai, Rongmei and Inpui, and RD David Boyes, president of Chandel Naga People’s Organization (CNPO).

Must read | Manipur: Vineet Joshi appointed as new Chief Secretary

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments