Chief Minister drops Six cabinet ministers, inducts Five

Induction of one more minister is likely to be done after the due by-election expected to be held in October-November this year.

The much speculated cabinet reshuffle in the three and a half year old N Biren Singh led BJP coalition government in Manipur took place on Thursday. Chief minister N Biren Singh dropped six cabinet ministers from his council of ministers and inducted five new faces. 

The five new faces who were inducted to the council of ministers are Okram Henry Singh, O Lukhoi Singh, Sorokhaibam Rajen, Thokchom Satyabrata Singh and Vungzagin Valte.

Henry and Lukhoi were ex-MLAs who left the Congress after tendering resignations as members of the Manipur Legislative Assembly in August this year while the rest three are sitting MLAs of the BJP.

Manipur Governor Dr Najma Heptulla administered the oath of office to the five newly inducted cabinet ministers in a simple function held at Raj Bhavan this afternoon. The ceremony was held at 3.30 pm.

Earlier, the Governor accepted a proposal of the chief minister regarding dropping of six ministers from the council of ministers.

The chief minister dropped three ministers from his own party BJP, two from the NPP and the lone LJP minister in the coalition government. They are Education minister Th Radeshyam, Social Welfare minister Nemcha Kipgen, Agriculture minister V Hangkhalian, Health minister L Jayentakumar, Fishery minister N Kyaishii and CAF & PD minister Karam Shyam.

Manipur having a 60-seat Assembly can have the ceiling of 12 ministers including the chief minister and as only five ministers were inducted after dropping six, Biren can induct one more minister. Induction of one more minister is likely to be done after the due by-election expected to be held in October-November this year.


- Advertisement -

For more such stories, follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram. Download our Android App. Subscribe to our Website Notifications to stay updated.

Proudly Hosted on

Also Read


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Connect With Us



Sashapasei (Phakhamei 2), Singrala’s official teaser is out: To Premier only on on May 1

Sashapasei (Phakhamei 2) Directed by Mazanmung AC is all set to exclusively premier on on May 1, Thursday. The music...

Manipur reports 72 fresh COVID-19 cases on Sunday

On April 1 last, the state recorded only one single-day spike even though the single digit daily spike recorded in the previous...

Sample test collection of Covid-19 commences at Mao Gate, Senapati

As per issued order from the Secretariat of the Health Department, Govt of Manipur, sample test collection of Covid-19 from all persons...

One succumbs to COVID-19 related illness in Meghalaya

A 74-year-old woman died of a COVID-19 related illness in Meghalaya, taking the death toll related to the disease in the state...

Citizens Committee, Manipur resolves to extend humanitarian service to Myanmar citizens

The Citizens Committee, Manipur (CCM) under the chairmanship of  Radhabinod Koijam, former Chief Minister of Manipur, held a meeting on Sunday at Thangmeiband,...