Manipur 2022 polls date announced; Model Code of Conduct comes into effect immediately, Election in 2 phases

Date of poll: Phase-1, February 27, 2022 (Sunday); Phase 2 - March 3, 2022 (Thursday); Counting of Votes - March 10, 2022 (Thursday).

Following the announcement by the Election Commission of India regarding the schedule for 12th General Elections to the Manipur Legislative Assembly today, the Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) of Manipur, Rajesh Agrawal informed that the Model Code of Conduct comes into effect immediately and will be applicable across the state.

Rajesh Agrawal was addressing the media during the press conference held today at the office of the CEO, Manipur, Lamphelpat in Imphal. All intending candidates, political parties, the State and the Union Governments and all stakeholders are, therefore, urged to comply strictly with the Model Code of Conduct with immediate effect till the election process is completed, he asserted.

The schedule for the General Elections is as under:

Sl. No.Poll EventFirst PhaseSecond Phase
1.       Issue of Notification01.02.2022 (Tuesday) 04.02.2022 (Friday)
2.       Last date of making Nominations08.02.2022 (Tuesday)11.02.2022 (Friday)
3.       Scrutiny of Nominations09.02.2022 (Wednesday)14.02.2022 (Monday)
4.       Last date for withdrawal of Candidature11.02.2022 (Friday)16.02.2022 (Wednesday)
5.       Date of Poll27.02.2022 (Sunday)03.03.2022 (Thursday)
6.       Counting of Votes10.03.2022 (Thursday)
7.       Date before which the election process shall be completed12.03.2022 (Saturday)

In the first phase, assembly constituencies going for polls are 1-Khundrakpam, 2-Heingang, 3-Khurai, 4-Khetrigao, 5-Thongju, 6-Keirao, 7-Andro, 8-Lamlai, 9-Thangmeiband, 10-Uripok, 11-Sagolband, 12-Keisamthong, 13-Singjamei, 14-Yaiskul, 15 Wangkhei, 16-Sekmai (SC), 17-Lamsang, 18-Konthoujam, 19-Patsoi, 20-Langthabal, 21- Naoria Pakhanglakpa, 22-Wangoi, 23-Mayang Imphal, 24-Nambol, 25-Oinam, 26-Bishenpur, 27-Moirang, 28-Thanga, 29-Kumbi, 46-Saikul (ST), 50-Kangpokpi, 51-Saitu (ST), 55- Tipaimukh(ST), 56-Thanlon(ST), 57-Henglep(ST), 58 Churachandpur (ST), 59-Saikot(ST), and 60-Singhat(ST).

In the second phase, assembly constituencies going for polls are 30-Lilong, 31-Thoubal, 32-Wangkhem, 33-Heirok, 34-Wangjing Tentha, 35-Khangabok, 36- Wabgai, 37-Kakching, 38-Hiyanglam, 39-Sugnoo, 40-Jiribam, 41-Chandel (ST), 42- Tengnoupal (ST), 43-Phungyar (ST), 44-Ukhrul (ST), 45-Chingai (ST), 47-Karong (ST), 48-Mao (ST), 49-Tadubi (ST),52-Tamei (ST), 53-Tamenglong (ST) and 54-Nungba (ST).

The CEO then stated that “silence period” has been extended from 48 hours to 72 hours from the close of poll. Maximum number of star campaigners for recognized parties has been restricted to 30 instead of 40. For unrecognized parties, it has been restricted to 15 instead of 20. The ECI has also directed that no physical meeting, roadshow, procession, cycle/bike/vehicle rally will be allowed till January 15, 2022.

The Election Commission of India has also come up with “Broad Guidelines for Conduct of General Election/Bye Election during COVID-19”. The number of persons to accompany a candidate during nomination has been restricted to only two. The number of vehicles allowed to enter the premises of RO is also restricted to two. Maximum numbers of persons allowed for door to door campaign is only five including the candidate. All political parties/candidates shall comply with COVID SOPs while campaigning and during the poll.

The CEO, Manipur and district functionaries are committed to comply with the guidelines on COVID issued by ECI and state authorities in letter and spirit. Necessary arrangements are being made to ensure a COVID safe election. All polling stations will be sanitised one day before poll. Adequate facilities for hand wash, proper marking, social distancing norms, thermal scanners shall be ensured. The services of ASHA workers & volunteers shall be utilised to ensure sanitisation and queue management. Voters will be provided with face mask and hand gloves for casting votes. Polling personnel will also be equipped with sanitizers and PPE kits. Efforts will be made to vaccinate all the polling personnel with two doses along with additional precautionary booster dose. Adequate efforts will also be made to increase the percentage of electors vaccinated.

The Election Commission has made provision for postal ballot to Persons with Disabilities whose names are marked in the electoral rolls and who possess disability certificates. This facility is also extended to senior citizens above the age of 80 and electors who are quarantined due to COVID. This facility will be made optional to the electors. PwD electors will also be provided with vehicles, volunteers and wheelchairs wherever required.


- Advertisement -

For more such stories, follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram. Download our Android App. Subscribe to our Website Notifications to stay updated.

Also Read

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Connect With Us



Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
Support Us
Support Us