JD(U) releases list of 30 candidates, NPP 13, two more for Shiv Sena: Manipur 2022 polls

Imphal: Janata Dal (United) released a list of 30 candidates today while NPP announced names of 13 more candidates.

The JD(U) released a list of candidates which the party Core Committee for the ensuing elections decided to allot party symbols. The list was dominated by the intending candidates who missed tickets of other parties, particularly the BJP. It also included three MLAs of the current Assembly- Ksh Biren Singh, Kh Joykishan and Ashab Uddin.

Ksh Biren Singh and Kh Joykishan were Congress MLAs suspended by the party while Ashab Uddin, is an independent legislator in the current Assembly elected from Jiribam constituency.

Two cop turned politicians who missed the BJP tickets were also in the list. They are LM Khaute (who took voluntary retirement as DGP to contest the election and Th Brinda Devi (who also took voluntary retirement as additional SP).

Also read: Congress declares names of 40 candidates for Manipur 2022 polls

Former chief secretary O Nabakishore who had contested the last Lok Sabha election from the Inner Manipur Parliamentary seat and was a BJP ticket aspirant will also contest the ensuing poll from Bishnupur constituency on JD(U) ticket.

Many former MLAs of the state Assembly who were in the BJP until the party released its first and final list of the 60 candidates were also in the list of the JD(U) candidates.

The National People’s Party (NPP) also released its second list of 13 candidates to be fielded as official nominees of the party. The party has so far declared names of 33 candidates as it had earlier released names of 20 candidates. While releasing the second list of candidates, NPP national vice president and incumbent deputy chief minister Y Joykumar hinted of another list of candidates soon. “We are preparing names of some more candidates to be fielded on party tickets,” he said.

Also read: NPP releases first list of 20 candidates for Manipur polls; no pre-poll alliance

The Shiv Sena Manipur unit also released its second list of two candidates to take the total number of candidates to be in the fray on party ticket to nine. The party had earlier declared names of six candidates. While releasing the second list, Shiv Sena state unit president N Tombi said that the party will focus education and road communication besides safeguarding the boundary of the state if its candidates were elected. However, the second list of candidates for the Congress which was expected today was not released till the time of filing this report. The party had already released a list of 40 candidates last month.

For the ruling BJP, names of candidates on party tickets from all the 60 seats had already been declared on January 30.

Manipur will go to poll in two phases –February 27 and March 3 – to elect 60 members of the state legislative Assembly.

Also read: Disgruntled former BJP intending candidates jump ship, joins NPP, Congress, JD(U) crew


- Advertisement -

For more such stories, follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram. Download our Android App. Subscribe to our Website Notifications to stay updated.

Also Read

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Connect With Us



Would love your thoughts, please comment.x