Nagaland: 40 NDPP, 20 BJP seats sharing in 2023 polls


Kohima: The Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) alliance will jointly contest the 2023 Nagaland Assembly election, a joint statement released on Tuesday stated that the two parties will contest 40 seats and BJP 20 in the 60-member Nagaland Legislative Assembly.

Chief minister of Nagaland Neiphiu Rio took to twitter saying, “Under the visionary leadership of Prime Minister of India Shri Narendra Modi and Shri Amit Shah our alliance is further strengthened. We remain committed to work for lasting peace & accelerated all-round dev. of the State. Grateful to JP Nadda, B L Santhosh and Himanta Biswa Sarma for their trust & support.”

Also read | Kuzholuzo Nienu says NPF party belongs to the Naga people

Tuesday statement added that there would be no friendly contest in any of the seats. “A Core Committee of NDPP and BJP members will formulate the election strategy and at an appropriate time it will decide which seat each party will contest, respectively,” the statement signed by Abu Metha, secretary general NDPP and Nalin Kohli, BJP Incharge, Nagaland said.

21 Naga People’s Front (NPF) MLA’s members in the opposition-less State of Nagaland in a major political development merged with the Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) on April 29, 2022.

- Advertisement -

For more such stories, follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram. Download our Android App. Subscribe to our Website Notifications to stay updated.

Also Read

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Connect With Us



Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
Support Us
Support Us