Manik Saha set to become Chief Minister of Tripura; Oath-taking ceremony on March 8


Agartala: The unlikely chief minister of Tripura, Prof. Dr Manik Saha who replaced Biplab Kumar Deb in May 2022 owing to worsening law and order situation in the state coupled with reports of infighting within the BJP’s state unit then, and ahead of assembly polls in 2023, is set to become chief minister for the second term.

Manik Saha was the Rajya Sabha MP from Tripura and state unit chief, until he took over his new role as chief minister of Tripura following commands from the central leadership.

The oath-taking will be held at Vivekananda ground in Agartala on March 8.

Also read | PM Modi in Tripura: Decades of Congress Communists rule hindered development

Prof. Dr Manik Saha who was elected as the leader of BJP legislature along with BJP party members on Monday called on the Governor of Tripura Satyadeo Narain Arya, to stake claim to form the new government of Tripura, at Raj Bhavan.

Also read | Tripura bypolls record 76.62 percent turnout

The BJP in Tripura assembly polls won 32 seats, while its ally, the Indigenous People’s Front of Tripura (IPFT) won one seat to retain power. In comparison BJP stacked 36 seats in the 2018 assembly polls.

Must read | Police baton-charge students protesting against administrative failure in DM University

About The Author

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments