Indigenous Adivasi groups urge PM Modi to take direct charge of Indo-Naga peace negotiation; adopts 2 resolutions


New Delhi: A meeting to advance the Indo-Naga peace process was organised by Naga Peoples Movement for Human Rights (NPMHR) at New Delhi on Friday. The meeting, according to NPMHR press statement was “historic because it was attended by Indigenous/Adivasi leaders and organization from the state of Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan and Maharashtra.”

The meeting was attended by important Indigenous/Adivasi leaders such as Faggan Singh Kulaste, Minister of State for Rural Development and Steel, Government of India; Omkar Singh Markam, Ex-Cabinet Minister and sitting MLA of Madhya Pradesh, Dr. Hiralal Alawa, MLA, Madhya Pradesh, including several leaders of tribal, political and social organizations namely, Vela Ram Gogra of BTP Rajasthan; Bala Jagtap of Prahar Social Party, Maharashtra; Shradha Kashyap of Ekta Parishad and several others, NPMHR said.

Must read | 10 tribal legislators in Manipur seek separation from the State – ‘Separate Administration’

The meeting held at Indian Social Institute, New Delhi unanimously adopted a two point resolution on advancing the Indo-Naga peace process was signed by 21 signatories, as per NPMHR.

Urging Prime Minster Narendra Modi to take direct charge of the negotiations to expedite its satisfactory resolution the resolution read:

  1. The house expresses its appreciation on the durability of the Indo-Naga peace process which has lasted for over two and a half decades. It is recognized that the Framework Agreement is not only the highest achievement of the peace negotiations but also the only workable solution in the present juncture, hence it ought to be respected to ensure honorable and lasting peace in the Naga areas.
  2. We believe that lack of significant progress since the signing of the Framework Agreement can potentially destabilize the efforts at peace.

Must read | 288 FIRs filed, 288 arms surrendered, 100 loaded vehicles stranded in Senapati reach Imphal: Minister Dr Ranjan

NPNHR press statement further said that Faggan Singh Kulaste extended his solidarity and commitment for the cause of peace in the Naga areas, while he assured the gathering that for advancing the cause of peace he will take the concerns expressed in the meeting to the political leadership of India.

“Indigenous/Adivasi leaders such as Dr. Heera Alawa, Velaram Meena, Rakesh Mahale, Gajanand Mahale, Hafiz Harun, Hari Singh Marawi, Gulzar Singh Marawi, Bala Saheb Jagtap, Arslan Y. Khan and Bijaya Panda also expressed their solidarity with the Naga endeavour for peace. They were also of the opinion that the need of the hour was to build solidarity between various tribal groups and communities,” it added.

Guwahati | Former CJI Gogoi faces defamation suit in Assam

About The Author

4 1 vote
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments