Tripura poll results early trends: BJP crosses halfway mark

Agartala: Early trends in Tripura assembly elections, according to Election Commission results at 2:45 PM, the Bharatiya Janata Party has won 16 seats and is leading in 17 other seats in the counting of votes polled in the state. Chief minister Manik Saha has retained his seat in the Town Bardowali constituency.

BJP and Indigenous Peoples Front of Tripura (IPFT) alliance in the state is ahead with a total of 18 seats put together, according to TV channels.

At the time of filing this report, TIPRA Motha has won 8 seats.

Related | 92% turnout in 2023 Tripura polls

Congress, CPM and BJP-ally IPFT have won 1 seat each, as per EC results so far.

Tripura CM and BJP candidate from Town Bardowali, Manik Saha arrives at the party office in Agartala as the party wins 15 and leads on 18 of the total 60 seats in the state. CM Saha himself has won from his seat, ANI said.

Counting of votes began from 8 AM in the state’s 60 assembly constituencies in a total of 21 constituencies, CEO Kran Gitte had said.

Must read | Salhoutuonuo Kruse & Hekani Jakhalu creates history in 2023 Nagaland assembly polls

Tripura assembly polls this time saw 259 candidates in fray which consists of 55 candidates nominated from BJP, 47 from Left Front including one independent candidate, 42 from TIPRA Motha party, 28 from TMC and 13 from Congress. Apart from that, parties like CPIML, TSP and RSP have candidates in one seat each. Seven candidates contested from unrecognized political parties.

Related | PM Modi in Tripura: Decades of Congress Communists rule hindered development

As many as 28,14,584 electorates comprising 14,15,233 male and 13,99,289 female voters were enrolled for exercising their democratic rights, but 24,66,511 electorates comprising 12,18,764 male and 12,47,705 female voters have casted their votes recording a percentage of 87.63 percent on February 16 last in 3,327 polling stations across state.

Among these polling stations, there were 97 polling stations manned by women, 88 model polling stations, 33 polling stations manned by youth polling workers and 44 polling stations manned by persons with disabilities (PwDs).

Must read | BJP will form government in Tripura: Assam CM Himanta Sarma

(With input from Northeast Today)

- Advertisement -

For more such stories, follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram. Download our Android App. Subscribe to our Website Notifications to stay updated.

Also Read

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Connect With Us



Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
Support Us
Support Us